- Our Residents
- Getting Around
On our Issaquah streets, you can find many different kinds of bicycle infrastructure, all of which are aimed towards helping people who ride bikes to get around our city safely and efficiently.
Information below on laws and safety come from the Cascade Bicycle Club.
Washington State Bicycle Laws
The biggest thing that keeps bikers safe on the roads is remembering that: Cyclists have all the rights and responsibilities of vehicle drivers. RCW 46.61.755 Below is additional information about cycling laws relevant in Issaquah
- Safety Stop
- Electric Bikes
- Lane Positions
Authorizes a person operating a bicycle to treat a stop sign as a yield sign. SB- 6208
Under the new law, a bicycle (human powered or electric-assisted) approaching a stop sign may:
- stop as normal, or
- treat it as a yield sign if:
For everyone’s safety, people biking must still fully stop at:
- Stoplights, including stop lights in bike lanes
- Stop signs on school buses
- Stop signs at railroad crossings
Click here to learn more or to see the safety stop in action
- “Electric-assist bicycles permissible with no more than 1,000 watts of power and maximum speed of 20mph with or without assist. 46.04.169
- Electric-assist bicycles allowed on sidewalks and trails but may be locally forbidden. 46.61.710
- Fully electric powered bikes are not allowed on sidewalks or trails. 46.61.723”
- Taken from Wabikes.org
- Anywhere in Washington, unless otherwise locally legislated, “every person riding a bicycle upon a sidewalk or crosswalk must be granted all of the rights and is subject to all of the duties applicable to a pedestrian by this chapter. [RCW 46.61.755(2)]”
- Bicyclists and drivers must yield to pedestrians on sidewalks and in crosswalks (RCW 46.61.261).
- Taken from Washington Bike Law
- Ride as far to the right as is SAFE, except when preparing to turn or when passing another vehicle. Note, this does not mean you must hug the right side of the road, as it may be unsafe due to debris, grates, car doors and other hazards.
- Ride no more than two abreast, and only when safe to do so (RCW 46.61.770). Occupy the center of a lane when the lane is too narrow to share or when it would be unsafe to ride to the right.
- Cyclists may ride on a path, lane, shoulder, or travel lane. RCW 46.61.770
- Check out this video from the League of American Bicyclists for an explanation on lane positioning.
- Drivers and bicyclists must always yield to pedestrians. RCW 46.61.261
- There is no state law requiring helmet use. Helmets are currently required by law in King County and many other jurisdictions. King County Board of Health Title 9
- Read more about helmets here.
- Use a white front light (visible for 500 feet) and a red rear reﬂector at night. A red rear light may be used in addition to the rear reﬂector. RCW 46.61.780
- Always use a steady front white light instead of a blinking light. In the dark it is easier to tell how fast an object is moving when there is a steady light instead of a blinking light.
- Use hand signals (and look) before turning. RCW 46.61.758
- Remember- even though hand signals are incredibly helpful, they are not mandatory. If you have to choose between feeling comfortable with your hands on the brakes and signaling, choose your hands on the brakes.
For more information about riding bicycles in our region, more information can be found on Cascade Bicycle Club website.