Experience the story of Issaquah's longest-lasting coal mining operation, which started in 1888.
Join the Issaquah History Museums for a Grand Ridge Mine History Hike at 10 a.m. March 26, 2016.
In 2015, hike guide Doug Bristol led an expedition to locate, identify and clear the historic features of the Grand Ridge mining area. His tour will reveal the fascinating results of his research into the people who worked in Issaquah's dark underside.
Bristol will lead participants from downtown Issaquah to the mine site through a historically significant section of Grand Ridge Park. At the site, participants will be able to explore the foundations of the mining structure and see the locations of mineshafts.
Throughout the trip, Bristol will entertain hikers with tales of Issaquah's dark and dangerous mining past, introducing participants to the people who lived in this important period in the region's history.
Order tickets via Eventbrite.
To help ensure the Grand Ridge Hike is safe and enjoyable, participation is limited to 20 guests. No add-on guests or children younger than 10 can be accommodated. All hikers younger than 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Hikers will meet at the East Sunset Trailhead for a moderately easy hike on well-developed gravel and dirt trails. The hike will be held rain or shine. Participants should bring water and snacks, and wear suitable shoes. Please leave dogs at home.
Questions? Email the Issaquah History Museums or call 425-392-3500.