News Flash

Top News

Posted on: November 3, 2022

2023 Free Park Days

flowers_topnews

Another reason to explore all that our beautiful state has to offer! The State Park Free Pass Days for 2023 have been released. On these days, no Discover Pass is needed to park on lands managed by Washington State Parks, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and the Washington Department of Natural Resources (DNR).

The 2023 Discover Pass free days are: 

  • Sunday, Jan. 1 – New Year’s Day and First Day Hikes 
  • Monday, Jan. 16 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
  • Thursday, March 9 - Billy Frank Jr.’s birthday 
  • Sunday, March 19 – Washington State Parks’ birthday 
  • Saturday, April 22 – Earth Day 
  • Saturday, June 10 – National Get Outdoors Day 
  • Sunday, June 11 – Free Fishing Weekend 
  • Monday, June 19 - Juneteenth 
  • Saturday, Sept. 23 – National Public Lands Day 
  • Tuesday, Oct. 10 – World Mental Health Day 
  • Saturday, Nov. 11 – Veterans Day 
  • Friday, Nov. 24 – Autumn Day 

Details

Free days apply only to day use (not overnight stays or rented facilities).

Note that the free days do not apply to Sno-Parks. During the winter season, November through April, visitors to Sno-Parks will need Sno-Park permits, which are available for purchase online or from vendors throughout the state. 

About the Discover Pass

State lands free days align with 2011 legislation that created the Discover Pass, which costs $30 to $35 annually, or $10 to $11.50 for a one-day visit, depending on point of purchase. The pass is required for vehicle access to state recreation lands managed by Washington State Parks, WDFW and DNR. The Discover Pass legislation directed State Parks to designate up to 12 free days when the pass would not be required to visit state parks. 

Discover Pass
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Top News

Snow-11-29-22 (84)

Winter Weather

Posted on: November 28, 2022
Topnews_veteransday

Issaquah Honors Our Veterans

Posted on: November 10, 2022
mittens_topnews

Cold Weather: Support is Available

Posted on: November 7, 2022